Department News 

2021 Match

We are extremely pleased to announce that both the Categorical Anesthesiology and the Combined Anesthesiology/ Internal Medicine Residency Programs filled all positions. Please join us in welcoming the individuals below to the department. Thank you to everyone involved in the interview process. 

2021-2022 Chief Residents

The Department is pleased to announce that the appointed Chief Residents for the Categorical Anesthesiology Residency program and Combined Anesthesiology/ Internal Medicine Residency Program for the 2021-2022 academic year.


The Chief Residents are chosen for their leadership skills and clinical acumen. We look forward to each of them serving as teachers, role models, and colleagues. Please join us in congratulating them on this noteworthy achievement.

Gasparian, Gregory - MD.png

Gregory G. Gasparian, MD

 Categorical Anesthesiology

Bovee, Kristie



Kristie Bovee, MD

Yim, Gibbs - MD.png

 Categorical Anesthesiology

Gibbs T. Yim, MD

Congratulations Class of 2021

The Department would like to celebrate the senior residents and fellows.  

Categorical Residents: 

Steven Nelson, MD - Chief Resident

Manshu Yan, MD - Chief Resident 

Sameep Dhillon, MD

Erica Evans, MD

David Farzam, MD

Vishal Gajendran, MD

Elyse Guran, MD

Derek Ho, MD

Bronson LeClair, MD

Jay Lee, MD

Phillip Pearson, MD

Annie Wang, MD
Justin Wang, MD

Jonathan Wood, MD

Internal Medicine/Anesthesia Combined Residents: 

Justin Calvert, MD - Chief Resident

Michael Douglas, MD - Chief Resident 

Class of 2021(2).jpg
Class of 2021(1).jpg

Dr. Melody Chang presented the Critical Care Fellow: Drs. Daniel Lyman and Sean Thrush. Dr. Melissa McCabe presented the Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellow: Dr. Chris Cullom.

Faculty Awards: 


Melissa McCabe, MD

Excellence in Resident Education


Jose Cesar, MD

Excellence in Resident Education

Resident Awards:


Manshu Yan, MD

Academic Resident of the Year

Wang A.jpg

Annie Wang, MD

Academic Resident of the Year

Research Resident of the Year


Elyse Guran, MD

Clinical Resident of the Year

It was a fun evening filled with laughs and good company. Congratulations Class of 2021! We will miss you all!

Resident Highlight

The department would like to congratulate Phillip Pearson, MD on receiving an award from the Department of Obstetric-Gynecology. We are very proud of his achievement and look forward to what future has in store for him. 


OB Anesthesia

Excellence in Patient Care

Phillip Pearson, MD